The Taft Garden

After leaving Casitas Springs, my much anticipated next stop was the Taft Garden in Ojai. Not much information on this garden can be found, as it is not open to the general public. For more information (and better pictures) on this incredible garden, check out A Growing Obsession’s post. There was no signage guiding visitors to the garden, and my GPS proved unreliable on this particular journey. Verbal directions given earlier were a bit murky to my plant-addled brain, having just experienced some of the most incredible gems Australia has to offer at Australian Native Plants Nursery. After a couple of wrong turns, I finally ended up in the parking lot of one of the most incredible gardens I have ever been to.

Untitled

The huts are where visitors are supposed to sign in. Though there were no other visitors to this 265 acre garden during my visit, I noticed many other people had visited the garden earlier in the week. Still, the feeling of being the only person in this massively-proportioned garden was a bit unnerving.

Untitled

The garden is incredibly well maintained. The sound of a distant chainsaw hummed in the background, providing proof of life in this deserted garden. These Veltheimia bracteata bloomed cheerily away in spite of the dearth of admirers visiting the garden.

Untitled

One of the plants I most looked forward to seeing during my trip down south was Furcraea macdougalii, and the Taft Garden had a few jaw-dropping specimens. Untitled

The aloes had mostly finished blooming by this time, but they hardly need blooms. These tree-like aloes formed a massive grove in the South African area of the garden. All kinds of massive specimens like this trio of Aloe marlothii.

Untitled

The Leucadendron discolor was going at it full tilt during my visit, however.

Untitled

The smoldering flowers and bracts seemed to have a light of their own.

Untitled

At almost any vantage in the garden, the backdrop of mountains loom, adding to the monumental atmosphere of the garden.

Untitled

It was starting to get pretty toasty, and lack of water had me seeking shelter, but not before I snapped hundreds more photos of the aloes.

Untitled

Aloe dichotoma and friends.

Untitled

These massive silvery Cussonia paniculata mark the end of the South African area.

Untitled

The banksia were my favorite plants that day, and seeing this Banksia repens blooming away in the ground contented me with my purchase of the very same plant earlier in the day.

Untitled

It was quite breezy the day I visited, and the wind made a plaintive whistling through the grove of casuarina as I wandered underneath. The magnificent boulders like the ones under the acacia were strewn throughout the garden, as though a glacier had placed them. They were much too strategically placed for that though, in my opinion. Maybe some artful rearranging?

Untitled

Never in my life had I seen so many lust-worthy plants in one place. This garden left me a bit befuddled. The scale was that of a world-class botanical garden, but it felt so devoid of human life, almost post-apocalyptic.

Untitled

 

7 thoughts on “The Taft Garden

  1. You’re so good. I was there 3 months ago and still have edited my 100’s of photos to post them. I think I’m a little hesitant to do so fearing it will mess with my memories of a perfect day in an amazing garden. My visit was on Christmas Eve and I too had the place to myself. It was the best Christmas gift I could have hoped for, I kept thinking how lucky I was.

    Like

    1. I was wondering why I hadn’t seen a post from you about it… I bet the aloes were pretty bloomy when you visited. When I was writing the post it brought me right back to the garden. I can’t wait to go back!

      Like

Leave a comment